MarketMan alternative
The MarketMan alternative built by restaurant operators
Smooth Ops is a MarketMan alternative built by operators with 14+ years of operations across 20+ locations. It handles invoice scanning, recipe costing, and vendor price alerts in one back-office app with a Square integration and QuickBooks P&L import, and you can start with a single module at $25 a month instead of buying a full suite. Try it for 30 days free, no credit card.
Smooth Ops vs MarketMan at a glance
Since April 2026, MarketMan is also sold inside Square as the $99 a month Square Restaurant Inventory add-on for Plus and Premium plans, so Square sellers now see it as the default option. Here is how the two actually compare for an independent restaurant evaluating food cost software for Square restaurants. Every MarketMan claim is sourced and dated in the notes below.
| Smooth Ops | MarketMan | |
|---|---|---|
| Price model | $25/month per module per location, or $99/month per location for everything. Sourcing free with Food Cost and Invoices. | Direct plans: Starter $199/month, Growth $249/month, Enterprise custom. Via Square: $99/month per location add-on on top of a Square Plus or Premium plan. |
| POS fit | Built around Square: sales, cash, and inventory import automatically, plus QuickBooks P&L import. | Broad POS integration list; native Square add-on requires a Plus or Premium Square plan. |
| Setup | Up and running in a week: day 1 snap invoices and import the menu, day 3 every dish costed, day 7 price alerts running. | Guided onboarding; setup advertised as free in a July 2026 promotion described as a $1,500 value. Reviewers describe initial data entry as tedious and time consuming. |
| Contract | Month to month, no contract, cancel anytime. | The Square add-on is billed month to month through Square. For direct plans, the pricing page does not publish contract terms; reviewers report cancellation friction and notice periods. |
| Modularity | One app with ten modules. Start with one module, add more later. | Sold as tiered plans; features like unlimited invoice scans and recipe costing sit in higher tiers. |
The full line-by-line breakdown and the fine print behind these figures are both further down this page. Comparing against MarginEdge instead? The MarginEdge alternative guide covers that move, and MarketMan vs MarginEdge puts the two platforms head to head. If Restaurant365 is the other name on your shortlist, MarketMan vs Restaurant365 compares them directly, without us in the middle. Want to compare against your own numbers instead of a table? 30 days free, no credit card.
Why people look for a MarketMan alternative
These come from verified user reviews on Capterra and G2, not from us. MarketMan is a capable, well-rated product; the complaints cluster around fit and friction for smaller operations.
- Price for a small operation: direct plans start at $199 a month, and reviewers on G2 list cost among the cons for smaller teams.
- Setup effort: Capterra reviewers describe the initial data entry as tedious and time consuming, especially for complex inventories.
- Cancellation friction: reviewers report contract terms and notice periods that made leaving harder than expected.
- Mobile app reliability: some reviewers flag app limitations during inventory counts.
How Smooth Ops is different
- Operator-built: 14+ years of operations across 20+ locations shaped what made it in and what stayed out.
- Modular: one app with ten modules (Food Cost, Invoices, Sourcing, Payments, Cash, Inventory, Tips, Tasks, Schedule, Banking). Start with one module at $25 a month per location and add more later, instead of buying a suite on day one.
- Square and QuickBooks native: Square sales, cash, and inventory import automatically, and the QuickBooks P&L import ties overhead and true profit per dish back to the books.
- Month to month, no contract: pricing stays simple at $25 per module or $99 for everything, per location.
When MarketMan is actually the better choice
Honest answer: if you run a multi-location group that needs deep purchasing automation, supplier ordering and purchase orders inside the platform, and commissary or central kitchen workflows, MarketMan has years of product depth there that Smooth Ops does not try to match. The same goes if you are not on Square and want its broad POS integration list, or if you are on Square Plus or Premium and specifically want inventory management bundled into your Square bill. If that is you, pick MarketMan and enjoy it.
If you are an independent on Square who mostly wants invoices read, dishes costed, and price creep caught, you probably do not need that depth, and you definitely do not need to pay for it.
What switching looks like in week one
- 1Day 1: connect Square, snap your current stack of supplier invoices, and import the menu.
- 2Day 3: every dish is costed from your real invoice prices. Keep MarketMan running in parallel if you want a safety net.
- 3Day 7: price alerts are running, and you can compare a week of numbers side by side before you cancel anything.
If MarketMan is not the only one you are weighing
Most operators shortlisting MarketMan are also looking at a recipe first tool or a full accounting suite. The meez alternative covers the recipe end, and Craftable is the one that comes up most on the beverage side.
If the question is really budget rather than features, what food cost software actually costs puts every vendor's published pricing in one table, with the setup fees and minimums that are easy to miss.
MarketMan alternative FAQ
Is Smooth Ops cheaper than MarketMan?+
Smooth Ops is $25 a month per module per location, or $99 a month per location for everything. MarketMan lists Starter at $199 and Growth at $249 per month on its pricing page, and the Square add-on version is $99 a month per location on top of a Square Plus or Premium plan, as of July 2026. So a single Smooth Ops module costs a quarter of the Square add-on, and the full Smooth Ops app matches its price.
Does Smooth Ops work with Square?+
Yes. Sales, cash, and inventory import from Square automatically, and you can model a menu price change against last month's real Square sales.
Can I try Smooth Ops before switching from MarketMan?+
Yes. 30 days free, no credit card. Run it alongside MarketMan on live invoices for a month and compare the numbers before you decide anything.
How much does MarketMan cost per month?+
As of July 2026, MarketMan's pricing page lists Starter at $199 a month with 50 invoice scans per month, Growth at $249 a month with unlimited scans plus real-time recipe costing and automatic COGS, and Enterprise at custom pricing.
Is MarketMan priced per location?+
MarketMan does not state per-location terms on its pricing page as of July 2026. The listed prices are $199 and $249 a month with no per-location qualifier, so multi-location operators should confirm how billing scales with MarketMan's sales team before budgeting.
Does MarketMan offer an annual discount?+
Not one it publishes. As of July 2026, MarketMan's pricing page displays prices as monthly and shows no annual-billing option or discount.
Which MarketMan plan includes recipe costing?+
Growth at $249 a month, as of July 2026. Real-time recipe costing, automatic COGS, and unlimited invoice scans all sit in Growth and above; Starter at $199 caps invoice scans at 50 a month and does not list recipe costing.
What does Smooth Ops cost compared to MarketMan?+
Smooth Ops is $25 a month per module per location, or $99 a month per location for everything, and Sourcing comes free with Food Cost and Invoices. Food Cost plus Invoices covers recipe costing and unlimited invoice scanning for $50 a month, against MarketMan's $249 Growth plan where those features live, as of July 2026.
Can I try Smooth Ops before committing?+
Yes. 30 days free, no credit card. Month to month after that, no contract, cancel anytime.
Can I use Smooth Ops and MarketMan at the same time while I decide?+
Yes. They do not conflict: MarketMan keeps doing your inventory and ordering while Smooth Ops reads the same invoices from photos and costs your dishes. A few weeks of running both on live deliveries tells you more than any comparison page, ours included.
What does switching from MarketMan to Smooth Ops involve?+
The typical timeline is up and running in a week. Day 1 you connect Square, snap invoices, and import the menu. Day 3 every dish is costed from your real invoice prices. Day 7 price alerts are running. There is no data migration project because Smooth Ops rebuilds your catalog from the invoices themselves.
Does Smooth Ops have a free trial?+
Yes. 30 days free, no credit card.
Sources and comparison notes
Every factual claim about MarketMan on this page comes from the sources below and is reviewed quarterly. If anything here is out of date, tell us at team@smoothopsapp.com and we will fix it.
- MarketMan lists Starter at $199 per month and Growth at $249 per month, with Enterprise as custom pricing, and advertises a free-setup promotion described as a $1,500 value. The pricing page does not state per-location terms. Source: MarketMan pricing page, as of July 2026.
- Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan is a $99 per month per location add-on that requires a Square Plus or Square Premium plan and is billed month to month through Square. Source: Square Restaurant Inventory page, as of July 2026.
- Square announced the global launch of Square Restaurant Inventory by MarketMan on April 2, 2026. Source: Business Wire press release, as of July 2026.
- Reviewer themes on setup effort (initial data entry described as tedious and time consuming), cost for small operations, mobile app reliability during counts, and cancellation friction come from verified user reviews. Source: Capterra reviews for MarketMan, as of July 2026.
- Additional reviewer sentiment, including pricing listed among cons, comes from G2 user reviews. Source: G2 reviews for MarketMan, as of July 2026.
Try the operator-built option first
Start with one module at $25 a month per location. Month to month, no contract.
30 days free, no credit card